Rooting for Root Cause Analysis

Let me admit, most quality people in the industry fail to effectively close out a nonconformity or a potential one, due to (obviously) ineffective root cause analysis on the problem at hand. In fact, this term is even conspicuously non-existent in the major part of the Middle East, except in a few miniscule numbers of companies, where serious quality takes precedence, in spite of the situation in the country.

Many would argue root cause analysis is an art. Agreed! However, in the same breathe it’s not rocket science either to not be able to perform a systematic one. Effective solutions are a result of effective root cause analysis. Watch this educative video on cause and effect and enjoy the benefits.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Cause and Effect Analysis – Fishbone, posted with vodpod

About Sam4Quality
Hey, I'm Sameer Chougle and I've been chosen as one of the Influential Voices of ASQ by ASQ. Quite an honor for me, I must say! I generally don't quite write much about me as I believe 'Beauty remains in the eyes of the beholder'. However, for the beauty to show, someone needs to behold me, so. I am currently engaged as a Quality Assurance Unit Head with a leading construction and contracting company in Kuwait. A Chemical engineer by academics, I soon became a passionate advocate of quality, having consulted 9 companies in Kuwait towards QMS certification. Currently, pursuing a Masters program in operations management, I am also a certified QMS, OHSAS Lead Auditor, EMS Internal Auditor and Six Sigma Green Belt. My simplest and most favored quality tool is Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) - it can be applied to ANY process, and I mean any process --> personal, work, academic, anything! I love mentoring my younger colleagues towards quality, and my guess is they love it too! A lot many educative years down the lane, I'd like to be known as a person 'who did quality in everything, for everything and everyone'! Late last year, I was honored by American Society for Quality as one of the ’40 new Voices of Quality’, and published as a featured candidate in their Nov 2011 issue of Quality Progress magazine.

3 Responses to Rooting for Root Cause Analysis

  1. Sam4Quality says:

    Thanks jon! Appreciate your good words. Your feedback means a lot to me. If you would like to receive updates on this page, you can chose to ‘Follow Me’ on this page.

    Regards,

  2. jon says:

    whoah this blog is excellent i love reading your posts. Keep up the great work! You already know, a lot of persons are hunting round for this info, you can help them greatly.

  3. jon says:

    Thanks for sharing your ideas right here. The other matter is that when a problem takes place with a pc motherboard, folks should not have some risk associated with repairing it themselves because if it is not done properly it can lead to irreparable damage to the entire laptop. It is usually safe just to approach any dealer of a laptop for the repair of that motherboard. They’ve got technicians with an expertise in dealing with pc motherboard troubles and can make the right analysis and accomplish repairs.

Leave a Reply

